Did you know that the wines you drink can be vegan? Yes they can and here is how! A Vegan wine is a wine that is made without the use of any animal products in the fining or filtering of the wine (so there are no egg whites or gelatin is used in the winemaking process). Fining and filtering wine helps to make the wine you drink clear without any sediment or particles floating or loose in the wine.
Vegan Certified Wines are wines that are made at the winery and vineyard level without the use of any animal products. This refers to all vines in the vineyard and how the wine is made in the celllar as well as in the bottling and marketing of the wine. The wineries here will use packaging that does not use animal products – this refers to the cork, wax, labels etc . Wineries are certified by a third-party audit and display the certification on the bottle.
RELATED: 7 Best Veggie Burgers in The 6ix